You can launch the preview player from any thumbnail for content that has a preview, whether in the Content tab, the Content page itself, or the Calendar Programming View. If a preview exists, the thumbnail will show a Play icon in the upper left corner.
Pop-up Preview Player in HyperCaster User Interface
Clicking on the thumbnail will pop up a preview player in a lightbox right in the interface, which you can choose to view full-screen.
In the player’s control bar you can also control the speed of the preview, up to 10x faster than real time.
The preview player will also display embedded 608/708 or sidecar captioning present in files. You can turn captioning on and off in the player’s control bar.
Manage your preview options from the Config → Content → Show Content Page, which gives you the option to enable or disable the automatic creation of previews on import.
When enabled, all imported content will be queued for preview creation as a background task. You can see the progress of preview creation including percent complete on the Task tab. You can also see how much disk space your previews are taking, and if that is a concern, you can Delete All Existing Previews. If you leave the Create Content Previews enabled after deleting existing preview, future imported content will create previews.
Individual preview files can be created or deleted by an administrator from the File Actions menu, which can be accessed in two ways:
From the main Content page, right-click on the thumbnail:
From the Show Content page of an individual video, click on the gear icon:
This is useful to free up disk space used by preview files manually on a case by case basis, or if you do not have preview generation automatically enabled, but would rather create previews on a case by case basis for specific review. Preview generation does require system CPU cycles, but it performed as a lower priority than other broadcast critical tasks.
It is important to note that when you archive content from the HyperCaster, its preview file remains in the broadcast server (if it already existed). This means you can still preview a video, even after it has been archived. However, if you archived files BEFORE enabling content previews, previews are only created at the time of local import, and so would NOT be available. You could restore a file from archive to generate a preview if needed, if one was not already created prior to archiving.